Tips on plugin that checks servers "difficulty" - Better Battlelog Forums #92669

Sitemap
Post edited 2 x times, last by
Topicstarter
Hi guys,

I just found out about better battlelog and got really exited, this thing is so cool along with bf3stats.com!

Anyways, I'm a noob, and I often end up in servers that are way over my head and I wanted a way to see if a server would be too difficult for me - or just perfect.

I took a glimpse of your plugins thingy and got off with something like this:
http://i.imgur.com/GLd9FGP.png

EDIT: Swtiched the dropbox link to imgur link.

It simply gets the average and mean rank of that server's players and assigns a color to that level on certain ranges.

Its really pre-alpha with just moments of developing so far, so I'm not releasing it yet. I want to have a talk how one should do what I have done. So here's what it currently does step by step:
1. On domchange if we have a playerlist on the right open and it's different than the last one
2. Fetch all the players playing on said server using Battlelog's own REST api
3. Loop through each and every player - do a request for each of them and their rank and store it
4. Sum them up and get the average and mean levels for that server, and assign a color to them based on your level.

What troubles me, is the huge amount of requests per server - 65 normal requests on 65 people maps - it's insane. At first I wanted to use BF3stats.com API and fetch all the users at once, but it didnt seem to return any information on player's ranks what so ever.

So - how should I go about making this thing better, properly and good enough so I can release it - if there's any interest on that? And what is a good way to assess the difficulty of the server? The rank based average seems to be kinda... lacking perhaps? Oh - and is there a better plugin that does something similiar to this already?